We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
A/B Mescaline extraction from rotten cactus Options

Rick Sanchez
#1 Posted : 5/24/2021 2:50:55 PM

DMT-Nexus member

One of the peruvian torch cacti I've been raising for several years now finally succumbed to rot over the winter. I've read on other threads that it should still be easy enough to extract, however it will likely be very difficult to powder the cactus. Does anyone have experience extracting from rotten cacti that could help me out with a few tips on how to prep the material?
Rick Sanchez is a fictional character. Anything said by Rick Sanchez is not representative of any real life events whatsoever.All posts should be regarded as fictional occurrences in imaginary dimensions.

Everything exists some of the time but nothing exists all the time.

STS is a community for people interested in growing, preserving and researching botanical species, particularly those with remarkable therapeutic and/or psychoactive properties.

downwardsfromzero
#2 Posted : 5/24/2021 7:04:21 PM

Boundary condition

ModeratorChemical expert

It depends on the present state of the cacti, but the good news is that yields from rotten cacti will tend to be good because all the cells will have been burst, freeing up the (alkaloidal) contents. That this happened in winter is also likely to be a bonus as the lower light levels are likely to lead to an increase in alkaloid content.

Because the rotting process frees up the intracellular fluid you should be able to skip the acidification step - just mix the rotten cactus pulp with lime and proceed from there. (Have you seen the new "CIELO" tek? It might be worth a try here.)

On the other hand, once rotten cacti have dried out completely, they powder very easily.