We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
Tissue cultures of common ethnobotanicals Options

Woolmer
#1 Posted : 5/23/2021 10:27:37 AM

DMT-Nexus member

I was wondering if anyone here has any experience with tissue cultures. I noticed that there is very little discussion of this on the Nexus so I wanted to get a thread going as this could be a very interesting route for growing ethnos and perhaps even manipulating alkaloid content.

I recently received supplies and will be having my go at this. To note I have no experience in any scientific field. Everything will be done in a kitchen environment and logged here, including recipes and methods.

Attached below is a paper listing alkaloid production in Cereus Peruvianus TC.

A quote from that paper: "The ratio of alkaloid concentration between mature plant and morphologically undifferentiated cells of callous tissue was 1∶1.7. A relationship between culture medium containing tyrosine and alkaloid production was also observed in the callous tissues of C. peruvianus".

STS is a community for people interested in growing, preserving and researching botanical species, particularly those with remarkable therapeutic and/or psychoactive properties.

Jagube
#2 Posted : 5/23/2021 10:40:44 AM

DMT-Nexus member

You may find more discussion of TC on STS.

downwardsfromzero
#3 Posted : 5/23/2021 11:16:02 PM

Boundary condition

ModeratorChemical expert

Presumably using a cactus species other than C. peruvianus could lead to the production of more interesting alkaloids than tyramine or hordenine.

Is formation of non-regenerative callous tissue a general function of higher plants, or are there some species where it's simply not worth bothering?