We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
12NEXT
First time backsalting Options

m4estr0
#1 Posted : 1/12/2020 9:08:38 AM

DMT-Nexus member

Hello,

I'm backsalting 100 mL toluene with 0.0531 mol/L HCl (this concentration is such that 100 mL will salt exactly 1 g of DMT), added in 25 mL steps and pH measured after each step (titration). The intension is to precip freebase directly out of water with ammonia in the next step.

After 200 mL was added, pH dropped to 4-5.
It's my first time ever doing titration. Started with 100g MHRB (powdered), so I guess >1% yield.

Now my question: My toluene + water mixture has a toluene phase (on top), and a "soapy" water phase:

Is this something to worry about?

Btw, the water phase looks yellow on this photo but it is colorless in real life.

It seems that the more acid was added, the soapier the whole thing became. When shaking the mixture, there are many small bubbles in the water phase. Letting the mixture sit, the bubbles become larger over time, until they look no longer like bubbles but more like long threads, "spiderwebs" in the water phase.

Another thing that I may have done "wrong" is only using 0.57g of NaOH per 1g of MHRB. Also, why is it that when pulling NP from basic soup, plenty of NaOH is reported to break emulsions, even though it causes saponification?

Good quality Syrian rue (Peganum harmala) for an incredible price!

doubledog
#2 Posted : 1/12/2020 9:10:36 PM

DMT-Nexus member

After mixing of toluene with basic soup, it is important to wait till toluene becomes clear, this takes few hours after it separates from basic water. if it's milky or cloudy, you will backsalt some impurities to acidic water.