We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
Agar Help - Mycelium, Mold or Bacteria? Options

blue.magic
#1 Posted : 2/9/2018 10:38:16 PM

DMT-Nexus member

I scraped some cubensis spores to agar plates 8 days ago. The spore prints are of questionable quality so I expected some contamination. I am an agar newbie and not sure how to assess these plates. Could you help? The medium used is MEA.

Here is one McKennaii plate and it looks like healthy tomentose mycelium forming. It grows only where the spores were dropped (I used way too much I know...) but the white growth looks more like polyfill and is quite bulky. I am worrying it could be a mould:

The Golden Teacher plates are even trickier. There is no visible mycelium, only a brownish shapes around the spores but also growing from other parts of the dish.

Should I discard these? I made a spore syringe from the GT spores and inoculated some BRF jars. They germinated just fine and white fluffy mycelium grows from the inoculation points with no signs of contamination.

None of the plates are contaminated except for one tiny orange spor on one plate (bacterial blob?). The plates were sterilised in PC after being poured and wrapped in alu foil, then transferred to glove box and sealed with Parafilm after the inoculation.

Good quality Syrian rue (Peganum harmala) for an incredible price!

sauSage
#2 Posted : 2/9/2018 10:57:03 PM

DMT-Nexus member

the photos aren't great, but the mckennaii actually look rhizomorphic... does it look like strands of string?

the golden teacher looks like contamination...
"The brain is a reducing valve that restricts consciousness" - A Huxley

"Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail" – Ralph Waldo Emerson…