We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
Why several collection jars? Options

brighteyes
#1 Posted : 7/22/2017 11:11:53 PM
DMT-Nexus member

Hi

Total novice here wondering:

I plan on doing a STBE using Noman's tek with a small adjustment proposed in the remarks at the bottom of the description.
I will use step 7 from Vovin's tek to wash the naphtha.

I have a few questions:

I got confused as to when in the process I should do this wash (step 7 from Vovin's tek), but I assume, relying on Vovin's meticulous description, that it's after the extraction, before the freeze separation.
Have I understood it correctly?

My second question is basically one question with a few follow ups:

It has to do with the reason for having several collection jars for each time I extract using naphtha.
If I could collect each pull, say 4-7 times, in one jar, I would have an easier task washing it, and freezing one jar would be easier. Not to mention the advantage of reducing the surface area used by only using one jar.
Is there a specific reason behind having one jar per pull?

Does that mean 7 jars if I decide to do it 7 times?
If I must use 7 jars, do I need 7 coffee filters, or can I filter all 7 jars into the same filter?

Thanks in advance for any feedback!

Explore our global analysis service for precise testing of your extracts and other substances.

AcidShard
#2 Posted : 7/23/2017 2:41:38 AM

DMT-Nexus member

Hi,
Before starting your first thread, (which should be introducing yourself), you should take a minute to read the forum rules and guidelines. The Nexus encourages people to do their own research, and searching the forum to see if your question has already been answered.