We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
10 days no pins (GT's) Options

smoothmonkey
#1 Posted : 12/10/2016 5:04:14 PM

DMT-Nexus member

Greetings fellow humanoids!

I've done a LOT of reading on here and the shroomery before posting here, but it's my first time and I'm nervous so bear with me..

10 days ago I placed 4 BRF cakes into a SGFC (1/4 holes all 6 sides, 1.5-2" apart, 6" rinsed perlite, propped up on 1/2 pints). Initially, I only had 3 or so inches of perlite but once I realized i needed more (4 days) I added it. The cakes were left to consolidate for 1 week after full colonization and then dunk/rolled in verm before being placed in the chamber. Mist 3-4 times and fan 6-8 times a day, light on 12/12, temp hovers around 74. I live in a very dry climate and noticed that my chamber dries out rather quickly, so yesterday I added a double ended casing of wet verm to all cakes and placed a small humidifier near the SGFC in hopes that the cakes would retain more moisture and RH would go up.

The cakes began growing over the roll casing, and the myc looks healthy and white with some blueing from handling I believe. It has grown knotted and bumpy around the bottom of the cakes, looking sharp and spikey in some areas..

Here are some pictures:

Am I to just continue being patient? Or is something wrong with my setup?

Any and all hints or suggestions are greatly appreciated!

-monkey
असतो मा सद्गमय ।
तमसो मा ज्योतिर्गमय ।
मृत्योर्मा अमृतं गमय ।

Good quality Syrian rue (Peganum harmala) for an incredible price!

TGO
#2 Posted : 12/10/2016 5:22:21 PM

Music is alive and in your soul. It can move you. It can carry you. It can make you cry! Make you laugh. Most importantly, it makes you feel! What is more important than that?

Welcoming committee