We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
Plant extraction questions (non-actives) Options

Kryptos
#1 Posted : 2/6/2016 4:04:49 AM
DMT-Nexus member

Hello,
I'm a professional chemist, currently working in an HPLC lab until I can find a synthesis job. I am familiar with extractions, and have read many of the extraction techniques on the nexus over the years. However, I am primarily a synthetic chemist, and do not know all of the theories involved in extractions. I've found that the nexus is pretty much at the forefront of plant extraction chemistry, and thus turn here for assistance.

I am currently analyzing several plant extracts prepared by the local biology department for several extremely similar chemical compounds. I've mostly figured out how to get baseline resolution on them, and tried analyzing the extracts they gave me. Needless to say, they were primarily crap. The few peaks of interest are buried under a multitude of fats and presumably alkaloids to a ridiculous extent. I found out that the biologists were extracting things by literally soaking the plant in methanol, and giving me the resulting tincture. The compounds of interest are isoflavones and 7-O-glucosides of isoflavones, with varying hydroxy substituents.

I'm leaning towards a defatting step. However, I am not entirely certain if isoflavones can be acidified and basified as DMT, nor if that would help due to the many hydroxy groups. Can anyone shed some light on extracting these from assorted plant lipids and alkaloids?
Thank you

Live plants. Sustainable, ethically sourced, native American owned.

downwardsfromzero
#2 Posted : 2/8/2016 3:59:45 AM

Boundary condition

ModeratorChemical expert

Stick it through a flash column?