We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
123NEXT»
Internet Security Walk-Through Tutorial Options

PsilocybeChild
#1 Posted : 8/25/2015 3:29:53 PM

DMT-Nexus member

The thread on browser addons for privacy inspired me to write a tutorial for internet security and privacy. And I just noticed this whole security section of the forum. Writing this consumed me for the past week and it turned into a mini eBook. (You need more than Browser extensions for real security!) I am not an expert but have started taking a strong interest in the subject for the past couple years. I'd like to share the info with users of drug education/harm reduction communities as well as alternative medicine communities who might want to incorporate these protocols. FYI, it is quite long.

Edit:
v1.1 Updated with some small revisions and a 'EXIF Data: "Geolocation"' Section.
v1.2 Small revisions, added a disclaimer, SSH tunneling, Public WiFi dangers, rewrote open-source router firmware section to include OpenWRT and LibreCMC.
v1.3 Small revisions and blocking webcam.
v1.4 Encrypting plaintext/passwords with a compressed archive (tar or zip).
v1.5 Added details on KeePassX for password storage and encryption. New software highlight: Demonsaw for anoymous p2p filesharing. Added details to downsides of VeraCrypt and why I recommend other ways for password encryption.
v1.6 Added Which phone apps to give permanent root access and KeePass encrypted passwords on phone.