We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
Yet another zinc thread - DMT extraction Options

lutinmalin
#1 Posted : 1/31/2014 6:58:28 PM
DMT-Nexus member

Hi guys,

First of all, I'd like to thank everyone involved in this site, it's a true goldmine of knowledge. Thumbs up

Now, I am planning on doing the DMT handbook extraction with Mimosa Hostilis.
I have read a lot about AB extraction (because I have very little knowledge in chemistry) and I've read that old plant material can be oxydised and contain DMT N-Oxide. I have no idea about the condition of my Mimosa, therefore I prefer to assume that part/most of its DMT is oxydized.
I have also read that zinc can be used to recover that oxyde and turn it back to DMT.
The thread I read states I should use 200mg of Zinc for 200mg of N-Oxide.
However, I have also read that Zinc can be used during the AB extraction, "in excess", between A and B specifically.
I have read somewhere that
Quote:
Mimosa tenuiflora (= M. hostilis): DMT in root-bark at 0.31–11%
so I think that my plant material shouldn't contain more than 11% of DMT N-Oxide. Therefore, I would think I should need to add 110 grams per kilogram of Mimosa before the basification, stir for 2 hours, filter the zinc out then proceed with basification and finish the extraction as described in the DMT handbook.

Could you guys confirm if my assumptions are right? Should I wait for the acid tea to cool down before adding the zinc powder, or can it be done while the acid tea is still hot (right before adding basifying solution)?
Am I wasting too much zinc powder? Can zinc powder be reused?
I'm planning to use naphta, caustic soda, hydrochloric acid and demineralized water (and then acetone and fumarate acid to turn DMT freebase to salt).