We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
Aluminum A/B, tell me if I'm effed. Options

nirvanaguy70
#1 Posted : 4/9/2009 4:39:14 PM
DMT-Nexus member

I'm a chemistry student (key word student) but I'm not sure about this one. I basified after acidification and simmering, My wine jug that I was using to shake my basified solution with the naptha ended up having aluminum in the lid, and it reacted (turned the brown color typical of an aluminum and NaOH reaction), so I was just wondering whether this will spoil my extraction. Like will the naptha be contaminated at this point?

Good quality Syrian rue (Peganum harmala) for an incredible price!

acolon_5
#2 Posted : 4/9/2009 6:25:11 PM

The Great Namah

Yeah, the amount of contamination is probably very very small.

Make sure you recrystalize at least once and you should probably be fine.

I think the big issue is cooking in an aluminum pot during the acidic stage. I doubt very much that the base solution pulled more than a few molecules of alluminum into the basic solution. Having the alluminum salt cross into the naphtha is probably unheard of.

But I am not even a chem student, so you should probably get someone elses input on this.
The Spice extends life
The Spice expands consciousness
The Spice is vital for space travel
___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Never underestimate the power of STUFF!

I am certifiably insane, as such all posts written by me should be regarded as utter nonsense or attempts to get attention.

I don't know SWIM and personally don't trust him at all. If SWIM is posting, most likely I will not respond...as I said, I don't trust the guy. YOU I trust, but never SWIM.

nirvanaguy70
#3 Posted : 4/9/2009 10:43:27 PM