We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
Some utterly stupid observation Options

Infundibulum
#1 Posted : 1/3/2009 11:44:23 AM

Kalt und Heiß, Schwarz und Rot, Kürper und Geist, Liebe und Chaos

ModeratorChemical expert

OK, this is my 666th post, possibly this is the best way to waste it;

I was browsing through the "games" section of the Nexus and I started playing Space Invaders. Pretty nifty game, after killing some tons of alien invaders I did a fair score. But a problem arose when I had to register my name on the High Scores table.

I chose to register my score under the name "Rapist". And for some reason the program told me that this name is not acceptable, damn!

This was frustrating. I found out I can register any other word or phrase, but nothing that contains the word "rapist". Even "rapist of aliens" was rejected, WTF?

Now I am on a quest to find other words that cannot be registered on the Space Invaders high score tables.

Has ever anyone else had similar problem? Has anyone else found other words that are forbidden to use? Any input would be greatly appreciated, I feel pretty confused and cheated.

Need to calculate between salts and freebases? Click here!
Need to calculate freebase or salt percentage at a given pH? Click here!

Live plants. Sustainable, ethically sourced, native American owned.

obliguhl
#2 Posted : 1/3/2009 12:57:23 PM

DMT-Nexus member

Infundibulum
#3 Posted : 1/3/2009 3:30:24 PM

ModeratorChemical expert

Bloody hell no!

Just angry that my highscore did not get registered because I chose a name as such! I felt somewhat discriminated. Who on earth would ever add to the code of a game (esp. a flash game like space invaders) a command to reject some words like rapist???