We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
noob lands, flaps arms furiously, not much happens... Options

captainz
#1 Posted : 10/18/2011 4:24:12 PM

DMT-Nexus member

Good day all. I've been lurking around here for some time and trying the odd recipe here and there.

What I have learned:
Some of the recipes seem sensitive. Like the "cake method", if you basify the alcohol it comes out green, not red, which surprised me. I'd comment, but I am still a noob and not to be trusted Wink

Vinegar is horrid after a while.

Dryteks work but yields aren't great. Yet. And limonene is another smell that starts to grate. Yet I like Xylene. Years of sniffing pens I guess.

House's cactus goo is just horrible. Urggh. Though the "fountain of green" out the top of the pressure cooker was a sight to behold. Certainly took some explaining to my mother-in-law (I am now the official soap-maker in the family).

I am rubbish at chemistry without a pristine lab full of glassware. I must get me some more. This could become a fetish (oooooh, soxhlet, Vigreaux, reflux...)

I think distilled water is needed. At least when your water is full of chalk as it is here.

Did I mention I suck at chemistry? It's quite disappointing. I shall blame my tools...

I look forward to trying out ALL the recipes on here. One of them must work, eventually, by random chance alone. I'll comment widely if and when I ever get one working.

Thanks to all the contributors on here. Truly a marvelous resource.

See you on the other side...
My mobile phone's first language appears to be Phoneglish. The creative spelling belongs to it. The content is mine. In case you were wondering. Pop-pip!