We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
Amanita Muscaria drying question Options

Parshvik Chintan
#1 Posted : 8/8/2011 8:23:35 PM

DMT-Nexus member

TL;DR: mushrooms turning black when drying, ¿wat do?

i am from so-cal so i have no experience whatsoever with this mushroom, but i have been harvesting a fair amount over the past 2 days, and i am not sure if i am fucking things up or not.

so basically i had enough to fill a gallon ziploc but no real plan of how to dry them; so i just rinsed them, patted them dry with paper towels, and stuck them in the freezer.

after doing some researched i decided to defrost a few in a pot of 95º-ish (definitely below 120) water, then i squeezed a good amount of water out (so they werent soaking), and put them on a paper plate with some paper towels on the window sill (window open, with a fan over them).when they dried, they were all black except for a piece of the cap just above the stem (even then it had a black spot in the middle). i figured it was rot, but i read that they smell like rotting flesh when they rot, and they still smelled the same (very nice scent, smells like it would go well for cooking, especially with some teriyaki lol). but i spied some traces of mold all along the window sill, so i figured that might be the cause.
so i defrosted one more (approx 9 in diameter cap Cool ). then sat it next to a fire ( i was reading somewhere that chinese[?] people used to roast it over open fires) to dry for a bit (after having pressed them lightly into the pot). they got a bit of soot on them from the metal rack i had them on, but i don't feel i should be overly concerned about this.