We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
please tell me how this tek sounds, mycology virgin :) Options

closet-chemist1010
#1 Posted : 7/16/2011 3:23:27 PM

DMT-Nexus member

Hey nexus

You hooked me in with the spice, and although I had visited our little mushy friends before I knew of the nexus, you are my enabler!

so ive been doing some research, and have decided that before I start, im going to make my own tek, this may sound backwards to most, but I also did this with my spice extraction which turned out beautifully. And I already know what materials I have lying around the house.

SO please! I am open to all suggestions and advice, I am new to this so anything helps Smile
let me know how this sounds!
(these are rough details, the fine points will be added in if/when everything checks out)

Start with a spore syringe, a few local head shops and such sell them in my city.
after a thorough cleaning of everything, inject the spores into 2 oz of sterile liquid culture.
the liquid culture will sit in an incubator made from a small rubber-made bin, a reptile tank heating pad and thermostat(i have a pet snake, this stuff is already lying around) but a warm dark place will do the trick.

Allow the liquid culture to sit for 1-3 weeks, until it is 2/3 colonized.

SUBSTRATE!
4 cups vermiculite, 2 cups brown rice flour, 1.5 cups of water. enough for 2 spawn bags

mix together, put in spawn bags, and pasteurize at 85 deg C until all the material has reached that temp, allow to cool throughout.

INNOCULATION
After a thorough cleaning of everything, inject 1oz of liquid culture into each spawn bag using a sterile syringe.
place spawn bags in incubator at your strains favourite temp.