We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
An interesting proposition... Options

zarathustra
#1 Posted : 4/22/2011 2:52:05 AM

Michael

Hello all! Glad to be here with you Very happy

I’m a relatively long-time reader of the DMT Nexus, and I’m happy to finally take part in the wonderful discussions that you cultivate here. I’m writing out of interest, as I’m absolutely fascinated by entheogens, and especially DMT, and how these affect consciousness and cultural life. I very much want to learn more about everything discussed here, which is why I’ve been reading, and now I’d like to be a part of the conversation, which is why I’m here now!

But as for the proposition? Let me give you the long and short of it.

I’m a Social Anthropology student studying at St Andrews University in Scotland. I am currently doing fieldwork for how communities construct different forms of knowledge, and I am particularly keen to see how the DMT Nexus community can add to this discussion. I think there are some very interesting things to be said about spice and knowledge production.

Knowledge is certainly something to be contested today. The ‘knowledge’ and ‘truth’ that is conventionally produced from universities and embodied in degrees seems to be lacking, in favour of other forms of knowledge. Is knowledge really something achieved by repetition of habit or memorization? Is it the acquiring of ‘facts’ about the world? Is this where truth comes from?

Or is knowledge something else? Is it in other truths about the world? Or none at all?

- - - - -