We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
A Universe from Nothing Options

neZ
#1 Posted : 2/8/2011 1:34:42 AM
DMT-Nexus member

I thought I would share this video with you guys. I realize it is probably not in the right section but I am limited to posting in the nursery.

It proposes an interesting theory of how the universe may have come from nothing (total energy=0, all matter, including us, is equated to energy using Einsteins energy mass equivalence, and this is balanced with the negative energy of gravity) At least that is my interpretation given my limited self-taught understanding of physics. Laughing

The video also does a good job of discrediting a lot of the "fine tuned universe" theological arguments.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ImvlS8PLIo

Good quality Syrian rue (Peganum harmala) for an incredible price!

gibran2
#2 Posted : 2/8/2011 2:58:13 AM

DMT-Nexus member

Salvia divinorum expertSenior Member

Lawrence Krauss gave a very nice talk! Of course, he talks alot about the "what" and has little to nothing to say about the "why".

Here are some quotes and notes I took during the talk. My comments/questions in blue:

…particles popping into and out of existence… – why?

Gravity has negative energy, exactly balanced by positive energy, yielding a net energy of zero (only if universe is flat)

…only such a universe can begin from nothing…

…the laws of physics allow a universe to begin from nothing – you don’t need a deity…

…nothing and quantum fluctuations can produce a universe…

…the universe is flat, it has zero total energy, and it could have begun from nothing…