We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
Cactus DB: idea for a project Options

Adivino
#1 Posted : 5/8/2010 12:07:59 AM

DMT-Nexus member

I've seen a lot of confusion regarding the identification of psychoactive cacti, in particular T. pachanoi and peruvianus. I'm not a cacti expert (just a noob) and I'm full of doubt when I have the possibility of buying a T. pachanoi. I know some basics traits: spines, shape, color, ribs, a sum of everything after all. However I'm afraid that I may have bought a specimen that's not very interesting. Do not take this bad, I'm not saying that they are not desired, I'm just saying that there's a reason beneath their cultivation: which is most probably their alkaloids.

This is why I don't think that we have to spend a lot of time and effort trying to tell if a cactus is a T. pachanoi or not, a T. peruvianus or a cuzcoensis. Rather, I think that the actual question should be how potent a certain cactus is. Since we don't have standard cacti to compare ours, it's a lot of guessing. Either that or rooting a plant with known potency.

I have an idea that may be too ambitious, but let me write it here. Could we build a database which includes standardized pictures and standardized descriptions of bioassayed cacti together with their subjective comments?

An example of an entry would be:

Quote:
Description: size used, age, color, where you suspect it comes from, city (or country) (or continent), wet weight, time of the year it was harvested, method used for ingestion, amount ingested, if done extraction its estimated yield.
Subjective comments.