We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
HIELO Explained Options

Catfish John
#1 Posted : 4/22/2023 3:32:08 AM

DMT-Nexus member

Hey All Big grin First off, I need to give kudos to Loveall for being an intellectual heavyweight and figuring this TEK out. I wanted to try it out but I'm new to learning about extractions and I wasn't confident. The TEK was brilliant and easy to follow but I didn't understand the 'why' of each step.

So to help myself gain a better understanding I put together this list that summarizes the steps and why you are adding x chemical to y chemical. I'm not a chemical expert and I encourage readers to be critical and point out mistakes I may have made. This list is based on using 100g of MHRB. Thanks again Loveall and I hope everyone finds this as helpful as I did.

1. Mix 150g water with 25g calcium hydroxide in a french press. The calcium hydroxide (also known as lime) serves as an alkaline agent that helps to break down the plant material and release the DMT from the bark. Alkaline agents, such as calcium hydroxide Ca(OH)2 help to separate DMT from plant material by converting the DMT molecule into its freebase form, which is more soluble in nonpolar solvents.

The DMT molecule in its natural form in the plant material is usually found in the form of DMT salts, which are water-soluble and cannot be easily extracted with nonpolar solvents. By adding an alkaline agent to the plant material, the DMT molecule is deprotonated (loses a hydrogen ion), converting it into the freebase form, which is insoluble in water and soluble in nonpolar solvents.

2. Mix in 100g MHRB powder to form a wet stiff consistency. Add water if necessary.