We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
How I Doo my Poo (Hpoo Pasteurization Tek) Options

Aoutiv
#1 Posted : 11/21/2009 2:56:10 AM

DMT-Nexus member

Trav suggested I put up some teks of how I do my mush, so, well here it begins.

I plan on putting a few seperate teks and splitting them up with as many pictures as I can take to help explain it as thorough as possible (I know we all love pics). Before starting, I must say that I have learned almost all of this at the shroomery (along with some help from Paul Stamets TMC, and RR's dvd Let's Grow Mushrooms!). The majority of this tek is from Let's Grow Mushrooms! (Purchase "Let's Grow Mushrooms!". I am quite new to mycology as is so I may be doing somethings wrong (which I hope that someone more experienced would point out!). This is just how I do things, I'm here to learn so if you have any tips or advice please spread the wealth!

Pasteurization = Heat treatment applied to a Substrate to destroy unwanted organisms but keeping favourable ones alive. The temperature range is 60°C to 80°C(140°F-175°F). The treatment is very different from Sterilization, which aims at destroying all organisms in the Substrate (Shroomery glossary).

Sterilization = Completely destroying all micro organisms present, by heat(autoclave, pressure cooker) or chemicals. Spawn Substrate always has to be sterilized prior to Inoculation (Shroomery glossary).

Whether to pasteurize or sterilize your horse manure is debatable. Proponents of pasteurization say that if you sterilize your horse poo, the horse poo is more susceptible to the contaminant Trichoderma (aka green mold) and that it kills the beneficial bacteria. I pasteurize.

This first tek is how I pasteurize my horse manure substrate for my rye seed spawn. Here it goes...