We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
Kratom plant care Options

Psilociraptor
#1 Posted : 9/26/2016 1:20:13 AM
DMT-Nexus member

Anyone here grow this little gem? I just got a couple and am trying really hard not to kill them but I'm a pretty novice botanist here lol. I've noticed the edges of the leaves are starting to get a little crisp and black and some of the smaller leaves are curling up and getting brittle. Any idea? I'm wondering if it's a drainage issue. I watered them this morning and the soil is still soaked. You'd think a vendor who handles these things would know what soil to use but what do i know. I'm also only giving them about 30 minutes of direct sunlight a day which was recommended to me to acclimate them. Even that is giving them a little sunburn though

Explore our global analysis service for precise testing of your extracts and other substances.

Continuum
#2 Posted : 9/26/2016 5:23:36 PM

DMT-Nexus member

I doubt it's too wet. Ime, kratom like as much water and you can supply, and I know of one grower who puts his potted plant into a large washtub that is always full or water because it drinks too much to water enough otherwise.

They ultimately like full sun, but yes, increasing slowly after they've been shocked in a dark box is the right thing to do.

Low humidity might be the problem. If you can, tent it somehow, with a large plastic tub or something, or at least mist it a couple times a day until it recovers.
Forge a Path with Heart <3

Psilociraptor
#3 Posted : 9/26/2016 6:30:09 PM
DMT-Nexus member