We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
Some cactus work... Options

urtica
#1 Posted : 1/20/2016 6:54:01 PM

DMT-Nexus member

I am so excited to get ahold of these TLC kits for research purposes.

I have been growing a number of Trichocereus species for many years, with the intention of doing some chemical analysis someday.

I also would love to figure out why it is the Trichocereus bridgesii is subjectively so much 'speedier' than Trichocereus pachanoi or peruvianus (in my and many other people's experience).

I hope that I will do this same process with a number of different Trichocereus species & clones over the next year or so.

OK.

Starting Material was 1025 g fresh Trichocereus bridgesii, a clone that I will call 'Kate'. Picture enclosed. Is was about 3 feet of skinny cactus. I also put 410g of the fresh material in a food dehydrator to dry.

The alkaloidal fraction was obtained using Kash's A/B tek, which can be found on the Wiki.

At the end of the extraction I was left with 633 mg of tannish powder. (o.633 g)

I tested this powder (about 5 mg) using Marquis reagent, and the color change (orange) indicated the presence of mescaline.

I then ran TLC on the alkaloid, again using ~5 mg, using the Bunk Police kit & following the enclosed directions.

I ended up with one nice clear spot and a streaky spot above that. Both flouresced under black light.

I have not yet run caffeine next to the alkaloid to compare RF values but maybe that will even happen today.

The spot reacted with the Marquis reagent in the same way that the original alkaloid did, while the streak had no reaction. Neither reacted to Ehrlich. (Picture enclosed)