We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
12NEXT
Substitute for naptha Options

santaonacid
#1 Posted : 3/20/2016 2:40:24 AM

DMT-Nexus member

I don't get naptha around where I live. What i did find at the hardware store is xylene, however it's not 100% xylene its got some impurities. I'd go for zippo fluid but it's a tad but expensive as I'm a student and 1kg bark is gonna need quite some naptha I'd suppose. What are my alternatives, without compromising yield or quality?

Good quality Syrian rue (Peganum harmala) for an incredible price!

Ulim
#2 Posted : 3/20/2016 3:13:46 AM

DMT-Nexus member

You could look up the datasheet of the xylene to find out what additives it contains.
Depending on the addtitives you can use it anyways. Could you look up the datasheet so we know?Smile

santaonacid
#3 Posted : 3/20/2016 3:39:49 AM

DMT-Nexus member

That's where it gets funny lol it just mentions that it contains xylene with a small mixture of other substances. Basically wasn't specified. I don't even know how they sell stuff like that. Seeing that I decided not to buy it at the store. Another paint thinner was made of nitrocellulose.. I don't suppose that's any good? Not very informed about this stuff.
I'd do an evap test but i don't wanna buy the whole thing just to test it

TGO
#4 Posted : 3/20/2016 3:48:56 AM

Music is alive and in your soul. It can move you. It can carry you. It can make you cry! Make you laugh. Most importantly, it makes you feel! What is more important than that?

Welcoming committee