We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
shredded vs powdered bark Options

highRvibratoryfreq
#1 Posted : 12/19/2013 1:31:45 PM

DMT-Nexus member

has anyone tried acid cooking shredded bark without first powdering it, and if so have they noticed a drop in yields compared to using powdered bark?

Good quality Syrian rue (Peganum harmala) for an incredible price!

Jaigurudevaom42
#2 Posted : 12/19/2013 2:51:59 PM

DMT-Nexus member

I've never tried it before but me being loyal to what most of the tek's suggest it seems that powdering the bark makes it easier for the plant alkaloids to be isolated and extracted, since the citric acid breaks down the cell walls easier.
I'd guess trying to acid cook shredded bark would be just a waste, unless someone knows the right cooking method.
Far away across the field, the tolling of the iron bell
calls the faithful to their knees, to hear the softly spoken magic spells

fathomlessness
#3 Posted : 7/4/2015 1:17:08 PM

DMT-Nexus member

I haven't found a conclusive answer yet here on the nexus. From my experience slightly shredded bark will still work but not as good as powdered or as close to as possible.

Pressure cookers have higher temps and allow you to lyse the cell more which can help in the situation.

In either case I find that it is best to use a flour sieve to seperate the powder from the shredded fibre and cook the fibrous stuff in the pressure cooker.

P.S. I go from blender on 1 minute then put all of that into a coffee grinder for 30 seconds and you end up in the clear, make sure you have good blenders and grinders though because they can go out the window quick!

P.P.S. If your wanting to know what is acceptable, something like this

ultraviolence
#4 Posted : 7/5/2015 9:38:10 AM

DMT-Nexus member