We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
The fuzzy horizon of information in autonomous finite systems. Options

Koornut
#1 Posted : 7/2/2015 4:11:48 AM

DMT-Nexus member

In light of a recent request by fathomlessness for 'meatier' topics of discussion, I put forth this question to all members of the nexus.

Disclaimer.
I am by no means an authority on any subject, I have been deferring a BA in philosophy for 8 years now with no plans to finish.
My educational pursuits have always been painted by a stubborn 'I can do this myself' attitude-flavoured-frosting on the carrot cake of procrastination, and as you can probably tell I am reaping the fruits of my labours. The cherry-on-top has yet to present itself.

Lately I have been pondering the nature of autonomous finite systems (AFS), a sphorange-defined class of systems that have the ability to receive input, process information and provide an observable result with either autonomy, or the practical illusion of autonomy.
Basically, any system either soft, hard or wet that can compute information in its environment.
A good example of what is not included in this class of systems would arguably be Donald Trump.
But that is neither here nor there.

These finite systems share an attribute that is unequivocal. They are finite. Be it temporal or spatial. They are finite.
I have chosen to exclude Donald Trump based on personal belief, my observations conclude that he must be of an immortal alien species whose sole purpose is to rid the free world of Latin folk.

Now, the finite nature of AFS intuitively suggests a limited capacity for information processing, if in fact we live in a universe in which that lil' Ol' variable called time is true (evidence seems to support this).