We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
123NEXT
Bipolar person seeks stories of people who gone bad (e.g. psychosis) on DMT Options

djdg
#1 Posted : 4/22/2014 10:11:32 PM
DMT-Nexus member

Greetings from the Netherlands!

Since 3 years I have been diagnosed with bipolar disorder. I take Lithium for it. Also I take Abilify (anti-psychotic) and Sertraline (anti-depressant). I have a light (due to medication) manic period once a year.

I have a strong wish to try DMT. I've been talking to my psychiatrist about it but she advised me not to do it. I am aware of the contra-indications with my medications and the risks (e.g. serotonin-syndrome), so I'll only do it once my medication has been reduced. I've been researching for three years now and barely (as in not) found stories about people who ended up in a psychosis after doing DMT. Are there any or do those people simply don't put out their story? Or are my search skills inadequate?

(Sorry for this messy post, but my English (grammar) is not that good)

Live plants. Sustainable, ethically sourced, native American owned.

Nathanial.Dread
#2 Posted : 4/22/2014 10:59:00 PM

DMT-Nexus member

It may be a long time before your medication is reduced, just be warned. Lithium is generally considered to be a life-long drug, I'm afraid. I have several bipolar relatives and most of them have been on lithium for decades now.

You should ask yourself if DMT is really worth it. I can't tell you any horror stories about DMT and BP off the top of my head, but bipolar is generally considered to be something you should avoid messing with. I have read reports of people who have BP and take LSD who go on to suffer long-term psychotic problems. DMT may just not be for you this lifetime. Maybe next time around?