We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
Peganum harmala extracts TLC analysis Options

TreehouseChemist
#1 Posted : 4/12/2014 1:51:51 AM

Lost Soul

Hello! Long time reader, first time poster.

I have been making extracts of peganum harmala for about 7-8 years now, and in the last couple years I have gone the extra step of separating and crystallizing the individual alkaloids, and I have some test results I could use some extra input on.

My extraction procedure: Make P harmala tea (usually 3kg of seeds at a time in a giant stainless steel cooking pot (from academy, normally used for boiling the hell out of dead animals). Precipitate with lab grade NaOH, redissolve with distilled vinegar, filter through lab paper with vacuum, NaOH precip, repeat 3-4 times. Redissolve in vinegar, filter, get it up to boiling temperature, add salt (Manske), let xtals crash out over a day, filter and dry, redissolve in vinegar, heat&salt&crash again, filter, add base until the brownish alkaloids fall out, filter those out, add more base to get the orangish portion (a large portion of the alkaloids, believed to be harmine), filter those out add more base till the precipitate begins to turn white, filter that portion out, then crank the pH up to 13 and white (with maybe a hint of pink) precipitate falls out (the 2nd largest portion, believed to be harmaline). I then take the individual harmine and harmaline portions and run through a couple more Manske cycles, save some as HCl, and base precip the rest to get the freebases.

I have been working with HPTLC plates (looking for fluorescent compound in wild mushrooms) for the last few months, and decided to run my harmala extracts through a plate to see how well the separation works. Here are the results.