We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
[Logic Check] First time manske on Syrian Rue Options

ooo0ooo
#1 Posted : 2/7/2014 2:29:27 AM

DMT-Nexus member

Hi -

This is my first time doing an extraction of harmalas from Syrian Rue following the teks in the wiki. I'm now in the middle of the manske conversion to the salt and it's sitting in the fridge precipitating slowly after being left to cool overnight.

I just pulled it out and checked the jar under a black light and it is fluorescing a nice bright shade of green - both the precipitate at the bottom and all the rest of the liquid in the jar. (How cool is that?! Cool)

No dramas, but just wondering -

1. If I got all the ratios right, would I be able to tell that the process was complete if the liquid portion stopped being fluorescent?

2. If after 24 hours or so, there's no more precipitate dropping, but the liquid portion still remains fluorescent, am I best off filtering and then re-heating the liquid with the addition of more salt or just basing it again and then repeating the manske?

Cheers!

Smile 0.

Explore our global analysis service for precise testing of your extracts and other substances.

Jox
#2 Posted : 2/14/2014 2:26:31 AM

DMT-Nexus member

Hi oooOooo,

I think it is not going the right way for you, you shouldnt have any sedimentation on the bottom, this is plant material of no use. If you see pics of cristalisation they dont sediment but float in the solution like needles, I would discard the sedimentation and heat the solution a bit and add more salt to it and wait for the crystals.

Best
Jox

ooo0ooo
#3 Posted : 2/14/2014 9:29:58 AM

DMT-Nexus member

HI Jox -