We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
Contemplative Practice Options

strauss
#1 Posted : 7/30/2013 12:13:58 AM
DMT-Nexus member

Greetings!

I was interested in responding to a post here re kundalini, but see that I will need to wait a bit and talk a little about my self, background, and current intentions in joining this community. I am a musician/composer, and at age 25 I had a spontaneous kundalini awakening. With no prior 'spiritual' practice (although I would say that I was inclined towards it from my artistic practice, which IMO could be seen as a kind of contemplative practice), nor having ever used a 'medicine' of any kind what so ever, this just happened one day. A classical kundalini awakening - from the root chakra, like water very slowly coursing through a hose, rising up the back and to the top of the head, then down through the arms and legs, all of the musicales releasing and letting go in the process - upon opening my eyes, I was, without knowing it at the time, most likely in 4th Jhana (from a Buddhist perspective); I saw like I had never seen before, I heard unlike I have ever heard, when I played mozart on the piano, I became mozart, I felt as though I understood the mind of God, and, well, this lasted for about two months, with pretty far out dreams every night. I saw into people, I felt love for all things, most everything appeared beautiful (cliches I know, but that's what it felt like at the time!)

After that, I found descriptions on the net about this kind of experience, I learned to meditate, and in the last few years have meditated daily 1-2 hours on average. I can now enter 2nd Jhana with ease - where the mind stream stops, more or less - and I frequently experience 3rd Jhana.