We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
Educational science books for the Layman Options

#1 Posted : 11/23/2010 8:25:15 PM

DMT-Nexus member

I see a lot of threads started at the Nexus regarding extremely complex ideas that are at the boundaries of current human understanding. Areas such as Cosmology, string theory, relativity, consciousness, Quantum Mechanics etc. I am always interested in these threads, and really enjoy the contribution everyone makes to them. There are many people at the Nexus who have a huge knowledge of these subjects.

However, I can't help but feel that the best way of learning about these subjects is your own private study. Whilst I am no expert, and have zero mathematical skill, I have still managed to learn a lot from books that are written by leaders in their field, but aimed at the layman like me and many others here.

If anyone can recommend some of these books that they have found useful in this thread, it could become a great resource for anyone interested. I suggest we stick to books only (no youtube videos!), and books written by scientists, even if the subject matter can get hypothetical at times.

I will start with a couple of books I have recommended a few times now. They are simply awesome.
The Elegant Universe by Brian Greene
The Quantum Enigma - Physics encounters Consciousness by Bruce Rosenblum & Fred Kuttner

Looking forward to some of your suggstions!

Oh great - the world has just been replaced by elf machinery.
Sic transit gloria mundi

Explore our global analysis service for precise testing of your extracts and other substances.

EquaL Observer
#2 Posted : 11/23/2010 9:57:13 PM

Ross