We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
12NEXT
Acids Options

VillainInc
#1 Posted : 6/10/2008 9:25:07 PM
DMT-Nexus member

I was just reading about citric acid and acetic acid a little, and I was just wondering. Would it be safe to assume citric acid would be a better idea for an a/b extraction due to its higher boiling point (177C compared to 118.1C according to Wikipedia)? I'm a little new to this, but I assume if the acid doesn't boil off, the pH should remain more constant.

Oh yeah, and vinegar smells bad.

Like I said, I'm new to this, so go easy on my if I'm wrong. Smile

Explore our global analysis service for precise testing of your extracts and other substances.

benzyme
#2 Posted : 6/10/2008 9:42:40 PM

analytical chemist

Moderator | Skills: Analytical equipment, Chemical master expertExtreme Chemical expert | Skills: Analytical equipment, Chemical master expertChemical expert | Skills: Analytical equipment, Chemical master expertSenior Member | Skills: Analytical equipment, Chemical master expert

b.p. doesn't matter, because you really don't want to subject it to that much heat.
personally, I favor acetic acid, as it's also used to extract psilocin. DMT is fully soluble and stable in acetic acid. citric is fine as well, but the product would probably be a bit messier
"Nothing is true, everything is permitted." ~ hassan i sabbah
"Experiments are the only means of attaining knowledge at our disposal. The rest is poetry, imagination." -Max Planck

Spock's Brain
#3 Posted : 6/11/2008 11:16:27 PM

DMT-Nexus member

benzyme - would ascorbic acid - vitamin C - be suitable and favorable for extraction methods? One could grind up some vitamin C with a mortar and pestle and create an acid solution?
"Infinite Diversity, in Infinite Combinations."