We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
dmt freebase - smell Options

yentzee
#1 Posted : 1/26/2023 6:35:48 PM

DMT-Nexus member

Location: somewhere between present past and future if there is such a thing
Hi,
I was wondering if that distincitve smell of dmt freebase is the substance or if this is due to residues of a solvent that was used to extract. And if so does it make sense to let it evaporate? From my understanding storing it in a dark brown glas container is the best way to store it?
Sorry I am not that experienced but was wondering about the strong smell compared to other substances.

Thanks for helping

Good quality Syrian rue (Peganum harmala) for an incredible price!

Brennendes Wasser
#2 Posted : 1/26/2023 8:37:30 PM

DMT-Nexus member

Chemical expert

When extracting with Alkanes the smell is not so much off from regular DMT. Because of this when directly derived from an extraction, the smell is definetly strong and will fade over 1-2 days. Still even plain DMT has some very characteristic smell.

Whatever I was looking into gave some hints that unimolecular DMT - being present as solitary molecules - has nearly no smell as discussed here.

But upon heating DMT generates a really strong spicy smell that is also very present when smoking DMT in a cigarette. That is why I think the really strong and characteristic smell of DMT is more bound to decomposition or polymerization products of it. When you heat your DMT a lot and then remove most DMT with a just gently warm Naphtha wash, you will have a darker concentrated residue that will be stronger in smell.