We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
Soxhlet for MHRB A/B? Options

maximumexp384
#1 Posted : 12/5/2022 2:11:33 AM

the truth presents itself in solitude

This is just a thought, and fully expect responses to give me reasons to not pursue this idea, but I can't shake this obsession of wanting to justify doing experiment using Soxhlet extractor (partly because I've never used soxhlet before)

After searching for "soxhlet" I've only found posts that deter its' usage for MHRB extraction, but for A/B tek (Vovin's Tek is one I've successfully used), it's a good bit of time to reduce multiple collections of the acid water after extracting from MHRB and filtering, and also to maintain pH4 takes some attention as water is evaporating.

While it certainly works, my idea below is theoretically lower time/involvement to do acid pull of MHRB, if it can work - and this is where I hope the experienced can give me a quick "yes it's worth trying" or "no it won't work because xyz"

The idea: use a 1000mL soxhlet extractor with 3000mL flask, and with a high enough wattage heater be able to heat acid water adequately in the flask, then be cooled enough by condenser (top section of soxhlet) that the MHRB wouldn't see undesirable/damaging temps by time acid water drips on MHRB (not sure appropriate quantity for this), and then let it reflux for several hours, possibly unattended.

After this, perhaps reduction of acid water not necessary and can go straight to next step (to base) and then FASA.

I understand soxhlet usually used with solvents and not water, but is it possible to use in the manner I've described?
I am Artificer

Explore our global analysis service for precise testing of your extracts and other substances.

downwardsfromzero