We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
How long evaporate 1 liter heptane takes ? Options

girche
#1 Posted : 10/20/2020 7:28:37 AM

DMT-Nexus member

Hello Nexus Smile
I'm a newbie in extraction and last night i pulled 1 liter heptane from 700 ml solution(100 gram mimosa hostilis)
I think i used larg amount of solvent ..
Now i want to evaporate heptane and then doing freezing part..
so now i dunno how long time needed to evaporate heptane in room temp..does heptane evaporate in room temp by itself ? or i got to put a fan on it ?(if both is ok how long takes to evaporate by both?) please let me know what is the best action i can do now !
i want to have pure crystal for vaping..
BTW i have heard i can evaporate all the solvent in room and No freezing !!! so what is the advantage of freezing ? please let me know

STS is a community for people interested in growing, preserving and researching botanical species, particularly those with remarkable therapeutic and/or psychoactive properties.

downwardsfromzero
#2 Posted : 10/20/2020 9:30:20 AM

Boundary condition

ModeratorChemical expert

Hello and welcome to the Nexus!
Amazing to see someone from Afghanistan logging in here.

That was a huge excess of heptane to use for 100g bark and 700mL solution!! Proper newbie level stuff Laughing

There is no need to evaporate 1 litre of heptane!

Firstly, it is incredibly wasteful.
Secondly, it's a huge fire or even explosion hazard (because the fact that you have to ask this question indicates a level of inexperience which may well include a lack of safety awareness).
Thirdly, you would be polluting your local environment.
Fourthly, you would be denying yourself the possibility of re-using the solvent.