We've Moved! Visit our NEW FORUM to join the latest discussions. This is an archive of our previous conversations...

You can find the login page for the old forum here.
CHATPRIVACYDONATELOGINREGISTER
DMT-Nexus
FAQWIKIHEALTH & SAFETYARTATTITUDEACTIVE TOPICS
fermented tea / water extract / syrian rue / peganum harmala / EM-1 Options

Triglav
#1 Posted : 6/21/2020 2:26:30 PM

In the gap between thoughts nonconceptual wisdom shines continuously.

I am still a total beginner in the world of fermenting - may that be foods, herbs or drinks - but since I love the Syrian rue I thought I would give it a try.

It is possible that biogenic amines such as tyramine are forming in the process. The combination of MAO-inhibitors and tyramine can lead to unwanted and potentially dangerous effects such as hypertensive crisis, migranes and vasoconstriction.

The initial idea for making this tea comes from the ayurvedic understanding of how different tastes work on different body types. This applies not only to different foods but to herbs as well. So the idea is to change the predominantly bitter taste of the harmala tea to more sweet and sour which is more suitable to my body type - especially if one takes it more regularly.

I've made a tea (water extract) by boiling 20 g of ground Syrian rue seeds more than 3 times. I used no acid to make the tea and I did a crude filtering with cotton balls. The end volume of the tea was 1 liter. Then I added 52 g of molasses to the tea and a splash of EM-1. EM-1 is a mix of different strains of Lactobacillus bacteria, photosynthetic bacteria and yeast. EM stands for 'effective organisms'. I put the mixture in a 1 liter jar and sealed it to make anaerobic environment in which these organisms thrive.